Florida Memorial Students Set Record by Winning Six Awards at National PRSSA Conference in Washington, D.C.

Florida Memorial University made history by winning six awards at this year's National Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Conference's "Inaugural Ball", which was hosted at the Wardman Park Marriott in Washington, D.C. this past October. More than 1,000 students, advisers, and professionals were in the audience as four students from Florida Memorial University's PRSSA Chapter accepted the awards for their dedication to public relations studies, community initiatives, and career development.

Florida Memorial Students Set RecordThe awards presented to Florida Memorial were as follows:

Teahan Award for Chapter Development

Florida Memorial University's PRSSA Chapter

Teahan Faculty Adviser Award

Dr. Mary-Angie Salvá-Ramírez

Star Chapter Award

Florida Memorial University's PRSSA Chapter

Gold Key Awards

Talithia Carter-Henri and Terrance Davis

National President's Citation

Chantale Stewart

Though Florida Memorial University's PRSSA Chapter works with limited resources, the members have accumulated several awards and recognitions at the National PRSSA Conference throughout the years. However, this year's conference marked the first time that the organization has won six awards in one year. Chantale Stewart, president of Florida Memorial's chapter of PRSSA, received the National President's Citation Award after submitting a one page essay, list of activities, and a letter of recommendation from a faculty or professional advisor. Stewart said, "We can look forward to the FMU Chapter of PRSSA to continuously win big at the PRSSA National Conference. The goals of the chapter for this academic year are to recruit students from other majors in addition to public relations, retain new members, help the community and University through service initiatives, and advance the profession while advancing the future professional." A month before the national conference, Chantale and PRSSA executive board member Nicole Bailey were both awarded $1,500 scholarships at the annual PRSA Miami Chapter's Ev Clay Luncheon for their academic excellence and dedication to public relations.

The University's PRSSA Chapter also took home the Teahan Faculty Adviser Award. Out of all PRSSA advisers across the country, Dr. Mary-Angie Salvá-Ramírez was recognized for serving as the chapter's committed leader. Dr. Salvá-Ramírez is very familiar with PRSSA and the parent organization, Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). She was the PRSSA chapter president when she was a graduate student and joined PRSA in 1997. Salvá-Ramírez stated, "I did not think I would be considered for such an award until I was much older. The fact that the kids nominated me every year was sweet and, well, good enough for me. I was shocked and obviously pleasantly surprised."

Return to list