Each year, the PRSA Miami Chapter host a 
luncheon to raises funds to support the Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund, PRSA's largest chapter-operated scholarship fund, which provides financial resources to South Florida students with a public relations interest. During this event, the Miami Chapter also honors the achievements of South Florida's communications professionals. The awards include the Royal Palm Award, Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients, and the Communicator to Watch Award. 

Royal Palm Award 
The PRSA Miami Royal Palm Award is presented to a member of the community who embodies and demonstrates key values of the public relations profession and who has made a significant contribution to Miami-Dade County. The recipient (who need not be a PRSA member) must demonstrate the following values:

  • Maintains a high standard of ethics and social responsibility
  • Positively affects attitudes, beliefs and behavior for the common good
  • Respects the nature of public opinion while accomplishing set goals
  • Makes a significant political, economic or social impact on the community
  • Positively influences policy decisions, courses of action and communications
  • Establishes sound relationships with various publics to gain consensus

Past Royal Palm Award Recipients:

  • 1997 Ron Levitt, APR
  • 1998 Hank Meyer, APR
  • 1999 Bryan Norcross
  • 2000 M. Anthony (Tony) Burns
  • 2001 Merrett Stierheim
  • 2002 Lynne Cameron
  • 2003 Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin
  • 2004 Michael Aller
  • 2005 Jorge Plasencia
  • 2006 Aida Levitan, PhD., APR
  • 2007 Stuart G. Newman
  • 2008 Arthur H. Hertz
  • 2009 David Lawrence Jr. 
  • 2010 Don Browne
  • 2011 Charles Cinnamon
  • 2012 Arva Moore Parks
  • 2013 Superintendent Alberto Carvalho
  • 2014 Barry E. Johnson
  • 2015 Ron Magill
  • 2016 Steve Rothaus
  • 2017 Harve Mogul
  • 2018 William D. Talbert, III
  • 2019 Jennifer Valoppi, Ph.D.
  • 2020 Lee Brian Schrager

Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement Award
In 1980 and again in 1995, PRSA Miami Chapter presented lifetime achievement awards to outstanding chapter members. In 2003, the death of nationally admired educator, public relations professional and chapter member Bill Adams prompted continuation of this award under his name. Our Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement award recognizes exceptional leadership and contributions to the public relations profession and the community. The Bill Adams PRSA Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a PRSA member or retired member who meets the following criteria: 

  • Has maintained tenure of 20 years of service in the public relations profession.
  • Has excelled in demonstrating support and dedication toward advancing the profession in communications and public relations (for example: through education, leadership roles, professional development and/or community service).
  • Represents the ethical characteristics exemplified by Bill Adams’ career.

Past Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:

  • 1980 Ev Clay
  • 1995 Ruth B. Kassewitz, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2003 William C. Adams, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2004 David H. Pearson, APR
  • 2005 Nelly Rubio
  • 2006 Robert C. Ross, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2007 Stuart Newman
  • 2008 Donn Tilson, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2009 Karen Buchsbaum, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2010 Jo Baxter, APR
  • 2011 Dana Clay
  • 2012 Ray Casas
  • 2013 Bruce Rubin, APR
  • 2014 Leslie Pantín
  • 2015 Rosanna M. Fiske, APR
  • 2016 Christine Barney, APR
  • 2017 Fernando Figueredo, APR
  • 2018 C.L. Conroy, APR
  • 2019 Lynne Farber
  • 2020 Bernadette Morris

Bob Ross Communicator to Watch Award
The Bob Ross Communicator to Watch Award is given annually to a communications professional in South Florida who has made an extraordinary contribution to their organization and to the communications community and profession as a whole through their work and service. The PRSA Miami Bob Ross Communicator to Watch Award is given to a communications practitioner who meets the following criteria:

  • Works and lives in South Florida
  • Has four to ten years of post-undergrad experience in a communications-related profession. This includes experience in any of the following areas: social or digital media, marketing, public relations, creative design, content creation, corporate communications, public affairs
  • Has demonstrated support and dedication toward advancing the profession in communications and service.

Past Communicator to Watch Award Recipient: 

  • 2018 Rafael Brazon-Di Fatta
  • 2019 Janisse Patino-Martinez 
  • 2020 Elizabeth Nickerson